Having fun isn’t hard when you have a library card!

Okay, so I wish I came up with that catchy saying up above, but alas, I did not (you can thank “Arthur” for that!). I love reading. I’ve always loved reading. The best days were the ones where Mom piled me and my two sisters in the car and took us to the local library. I could peruse those shelves for hours! We’d each come home with an armful of books and then the hardest part came– which one to start with?! My tried and true method (which I still use today) was to open each book and read the first paragraph. Whichever book hooked me became the winner.

I’ve recently made the switch from physical books to Kindle books (thanks to the boyfriend who won his eliminator fantasy football league! 😉 ). While I miss holding a real book in my hands, my book addiction was getting way too expensive and I found that the e-library had everything on Earth I’d ever want to read. My Kindle goes with me everywhere. If you don’t have one, I highly recommend it!

I am hoping to review a couple books each month. I’ve been reading more than usual lately since I had three weeks off from work (teacher perk!), so here we go!:

The Things We Bury by Allen Eskens

thethingswebury

I love a good thriller. I feel like this genre has really picked up after the success of books like Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train (I recommend both!). The Life We Bury follows college student Joe Talbert who was been assigned with writing a biography on an elderly person. He is paired up with Carl, a Vietnam veteran, who is dying of cancer and is living in a nursing home after serving thirty years in prison for being found guilty of rape and murder. Joe goes on a search for the truth all while dealing with his alcoholic mother and taking on the parental role for his autistic brother.

I am torn about this one. It became a little far-fetched at times (let’s be honest, most thrillers do), but it kept me hooked. I don’t know if I was hooked because it was good or because I was just waiting for Joe to figure it out so that I could be done reading. It also made me never want to visit the snow again (read and find out why).

November 9 by Colleen Hoover

november9

Oh my gosh, I got so emotionally invested in this book you have no idea! This is the second Colleen Hoover book I’ve read (and oh my gosh, I got so emotionally invested in that book, too!) and I’m pretty sure I read it in less than a day. I texted my best friend/college roomie, Whitney, so many times while reading. I think each text was simply an “OH MY GOSHHH!!” If you’ve never read anything by Colleen Hoover, do yourself a favor and add her to your list. I haven’t read them all but so far my favorites are this one, It Ends with Us, and Confess. (Although Hoover is in the regular fiction section of the bookstore, I’d qualify her more as Young Adult.)

Here’s to Us by Elin Hilderbrand

herestous_front

Elin Hilderbrand is one of my favorite authors. Each of her books take place on Nantucket (it’s officially added to my wanderlust list) and this one follows three women who are back, with their kids, on the island to say goodbye to their ex-husband (a famous chef) after he dies (yes, the man was married three times). There are a lot of characters to follow and you are transported from one point of view to another so often that it was sometimes hard to catch my bearings. Some characters were likable, some were not at all but overall, I feel like I’ll always recommend Elin Hilderbrand to anyone wanting an easy-breezy, feel-good book. Just be prepared to add Nantucket to your travel list, too!

Any other good books I need to add to my list?!

Leave a Reply

