ABCs of Me!

I didn’t start out with a post introducing myself because I figured anyone who read my blog would be people who already knew me. And while that still may be the case, this post is probably still a good idea. My students did an “ABCs of Mesopotamia” project for our history unit so I stole the idea for this post from that. Some of the letters were harder than others so forgive me for some of the randomness (and for the length of this one!).

Arizona: I lived in Arizona for six years following grad school. California wasn’t too kind to teachers when I was first looking for a position and Arizona was a good compromise.

Boyfriend: aka Michael! We had our first date in October 2013 and long story short: he moved to Connecticut for a job, we did long distance, we couldn’t do long distance, we did long distance again, and last May the stars finally aligned for us to live in the same city. He is kind and funny and smart and considerate. He also watches The Bachelor with me!

California: Born and raised and finally back again!

Dad: My dad puts up with a lot considering he has three daughters. We share a love of college basketball and Pippa (see P!) even though he will claim she is “just okay.”

Erin: Erin is my older sister and one of my best friends. She is literally the best person I know and reminds me on a daily basis to take nothing for granted.

Friday Night Lights: Hands down, Friday Night Lights is the best show that has ever been on television. If you haven’t watched, stop reading and log into Netflix!

Gonzaga: I am a proud graduate of Gonzaga University in Spokane, Washington. I received my BA in Sociology and stayed another year for my Masters in Teaching. GO ZAGS!

Homeland: Michael and I are currently binge-watching Homeland. I’ve seen the first three seasons and thought he might like it. We are flying through but darn work for getting in the way of our TV watching!

I love reality television: The Bachelor(ette), Teen Mom, Vanderpump Rules, The Real Housewives of (insert city), Fixer Upper, Below Deck, Survivor, Top Chef, and many, many more. I swear, I do more than just watch TV!

Jury: I think it would be so fun to serve on a jury. I am beyond fascinated with those high-profile court cases (OJ, Casey Anthony, Scott Peterson, “Serial,” Making a Murderer).

Kelley: Kelley is my younger sister. We are only 16 months apart and could not be more different. We didn’t really get along when we were growing up but I am very happy to call her one of my best friends now.

Linda: Linda is my mama. She is another one of my best friends. Give me a positive adjective and there is a 99.9% chance that it describes her.

Maggie: Maggie is Erin’s Welsh Corgi. She is about 11 years old and has certainly aged (aka gotten grumpy) since we got the little black dog (see P) last summer.

New York: I wish I could live in a tent in Central Park. Maybe not in the winter but I’d totally be up for it the rest of the year.

Oregon (more specifically, the Northwest): I miss the Northwest and don’t think I fully appreciated it while at Gonzaga. I miss the green and the seasons. California is definitely more green than Arizona was, but it still has nothing on the Northwest.

Pippa: Pippa/Pippy/Pippita/Pippilita is my family’s little black Jack Russell/Lab mix. She is almost a year old (I am currently planning her birthday party because I am THAT person) and I am pretty much obsessed with her. Remember this name; you’ll be hearing it a lot.

Quit Playing Games with my Heart: 90’s boy bands will forever have my heart. I’m looking at you Hanson, *N SYNC, and Backstreet Boys.

Roomie weekend: My favorite weekend of the year! My three college roomies and I each live in a different city (in three different states!) so we have a yearly (sometimes bi-yearly) roomie weekend and it’s my favorite tradition.

Shopping: Shopping is my cardio. Well, not really but I do love a good shopping trip. I am the queen of justifying any purchase (thanks, Mom!). I am also the queen of putting everything back because I convince myself that I don’t need it.

Teacher: I teach 6th grade ELA/History.

Ubuntu: Ubuntu is an African philosophy that means “I am because you are.” It is my favorite word for so many reasons (come back later this week for that blog post!).

Vacation: Michael and I have a few trips planned this year– San Francisco for his birthday/my Spring Break and Washington D.C. for his sister’s wedding. The teachers/admin at my school are going on a three-day cruise at the start of Spring Break and I am fairly positive I’ll be joining.

Whitney: I have two best friends and both are named Whitney! Whitney R. and I have been besties since Kindergarten and Whitney U. and I were randomly paired up as freshman roomies at Gonzaga. They are both pretty much stuck with me at this point!

Xenon (aka Zenon 😉 thanks Steph!): Do you remember that Disney Channel movie? Kids these days don’t know what they are missing. “Smart House” is also at the top of my Disney Channel Original Movie list.

Yawn: Once 9 o’clock hits, it’s bed time. I am very much an early riser thanks to my internal alarm clock so to maximize sleep time, I hit the hay early. I wish my younger self knew to appreciate sleep/nap time!

Zambia: Zambia has my heart. I traveled there twice while at Gonzaga to work with teachers and do various servant leadership projects. Please add Africa to your travel list; you won’t be disappointed.

 

Thanks for sticking with me all the way to Z! I challenge you to do an “ABCs of Me” post, too!

 

6 thoughts on “ABCs of Me!

Leave a Reply

