Life Lately

Life lately has been a whole lot of busy. Here are some of the things I’ve been up to:

Work// I had my third formal observation of the year on Monday. I am used to being evaluated, both formally and informally, but my new school has performance-based pay which adds an extra element to the process. I am super proud of my evaluations so far and am pretty tough on myself because I constantly want to be improving as a teacher. Oh, and our new campus will be done in a few weeks and our official move-in date is March 2nd! I cannot wait!

Sick// I have been sick for what seems like forever. Right when I start feeling better, I am coughing again. Earlier this week there were 6 kids absent in my one class of 29 so something is definitely going around. I’ve been really busy on the weekends and go-go-go during the week that my body is just begging for a day of rest. I decided to take today off and just relax and rest my voice. That’s one thing with being a teacher; there are no breaks ever during the day. I don’t get to sit down at my desk and “take it easy” so I am super thankful for the extra long weekend.

Sports// Yes, there is a sports update. Michael works at ESPN as a content researcher and was invited to a Super Bowl party at one of the anchor’s houses. It was a fun place to watch the game and meet some of the people Michael works with. The taco truck didn’t hurt and Michael enjoyed introducing me to the “famous” people aka ex-sports players that he works with. My dad and I went to the Gonzaga game at LMU last Thursday. We knew it was going to be a blowout game, but it is always fun to watch my team! I can’t say that the traffic to get to the game was anything fun though– an hour and 15 minutes to go from Pasadena to LMU! No, thank you!

Family// Kelley and James were in town over the weekend for a visit so I spent the weekend out in Corona. They were pretty busy with wedding to-do lists and making sure to see everyone they needed to, but I’m glad I was able to see them for the time I did! And I am always up for a weekend at my parents since it involves slumber parties with Pippa!

Michael// Michael has been out of town for work lately. He got sent to OKC to cover the Thunder game against Golden State and decided to have an extended layover in Phoenix (his hometown) on the way back. We did dinner on Valentine’s Day after I picked him up at the airport and on Sunday, he will be headed on another trip for work to Bristol. We have very different work schedules right now so I appreciate the time I am able to see him… and watch Homeland ;).

img_2635

And I will leave you with this lovely picture of blue skies and palm trees… it’s supposed to rain pretty much all weekend so I will be staring at this.

 

 

Leave a Reply

