February Book Review

I was able to finish 5 books since my last book review post! I haven’t picked up a book in the last week so hopefully I can get back to it and read a few more this next month.

 

Out of My Mind by Sharon Draper    unknown-2

I read this one with my 6th grade book club members (we are three members strong, including me!). The book follows Melody who is in a wheelchair and is non-verbal because she has Cerebral Palsy. She has all these words and thoughts in her head but no way to express them… until she gets her speaking device! This one struck really close to home because Melody reminded me of Erin in a lot of ways (the best being her personality). It broke my heart to see how other students treated Melody, but I love that the story gave a voice (literally) to someone that people need to and should hear from.

Unexpected Everything by Morgan Matson 

unknown-1

I’ve read other books by Matson and enjoyed them so knew I needed to add this one to my list. It was a predictable young adult read that I looked forward to picking up again every time I had to put it down. The book follows Andie whose summer plans change drastically and what starts out as a disappointing summer turns into a summer that she needed. I really enjoyed the friendship between Andie and her besties. Like I said, totally predictable but thats why I love YA books– they are easy peasy and enjoyable to read!

 

 

Before We Were Strangers by Renee Carlinounknown

I had been on the waiting list for the e-book for what seemed like months and it was well worth the wait. Before We Were Strangers follows two people who used to be in a relationship who randomly spot each other at a subway station. Most of the book takes place in the past where were learn about where they met and what led them to, 15 years later, being strangers. While it was kind of predictable, woven in the story were some pretty unpredictable developments. I love a good rom-com and this reminds me of a book that would make the perfect transition to film.

When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

unknown-3I read this one in about 3 hours. I also texted my mom and bestie, Whitney, during these three hours and told them either how much I was enjoying the book or how much I think they need to read it. This memoir is broken up into two parts: the story of how Paul came to be a neurosurgeon and the story of how Paul dealt with his cancer diagnosis. I throughly enjoyed his stories of being a surgeon and even more, I enjoyed reading about his insights on death. While that doesn’t sound like a fun topic, it really made you think. This wasn’t a light read whatsoever, and the epilogue comes sooner than it should because of Paul’s passing, but overall, if someone were to ask me how to describe the book in one word I’d say “beautiful.”

Before the Fall by Noah Hawley 26245850

This one has been on the best seller list forever and has been sitting on my shelf unread for awhile too (Barnes and Noble had it mis-marked for 50% off! And plus my mom’s 10% off member discount, I needed to scoop it up!). In the opening chapter, you are introduced several people who are boarding a private plane from Martha’s Vineyard to New York. Sixteen minutes after take off, the plane crashes. The rest of the book explores the stories of each of the people before the crash and follows the two survivors after the crash. There are a lot of characters and a lot of information you have to sift through, but I really enjoyed this book. The whole concept is fascinating (and terrifying). You do find out why the plane crashed and while I didn’t really like the reason, it wasn’t one that you could guess from the first few chapters.

Anything I should add to my March reading list?

One thought on “February Book Review

Leave a Reply

