March Book Review

It’s book time again! I usually finish every book I start; I hate stopping in the middle. I started a few this month that I just didn’t get into. My fellow book lover, Tricia, told me why finish it if I’m not enjoying it? There are far too many books to read to waste time on something you don’t enjoy! Here are the ones that I did finish, along with one that I *almost* finished.

The Widow by Fiona Barton Unknown-1

I read this one at the beginning of the month and weeks later, I honestly can’t give you a synopsis without looking at Amazon. I do know that I whizzed right through it because it was good! If you like a good thriller like Gone Girl or Girl on the Train, definitely look for this one at your library.

 

 

 

Unknown

All the Missing Girls by Megan Miranda

I stayed up way past my bedtime to finish this one. Nicki goes back to her small town when her brother calls her, asking for help with her dad who is in a home. The reader comes to learn that Corinne, her best friend went missing after the city’s carnival about 10 years earlier. While in town, another young girl goes missing and Nicki gets invested in the case because of the similarities to her friend’s disappearance. I really enjoyed this one despite sometimes being confused with the format of the book. The events move backwards so keeping all that straight in your head can get a bit confusing at times. And while I liked this one, my mom wasn’t able to finish it.

Slammed by Colleen Hoover

Unknown-3.jpegI love Colleen Hoover and I’ve enjoyed every one of her books (It Ends with Us and November 11 are my favorites). This one was enjoyable but definitely did not go to the top of my Colleen Hoover list. Maybe what I enjoy most about her books is how quick and easy they are. I am drawn in, get invested in the characters, and stay up a little later than I should to finish reading. Slammed follows Layken who moves back to Michigan with her mom and brother after her father dies. She becomes close with her neighbor, Will, and starts seeing herself liking Michigan but then learns that they can’t be together (for a reason I won’t spoil). She is also struggling with the thought of her mom dating again but finds out her mom is going through something much bigger. There are two more books in this series that I will probably read at some point, mostly because I’ve read all of her other books and need something to tie me over until a new book comes out!

Talking as Fast as I Can by Lauren Graham

Unknown-2I’m not usually an audiobook kind of gal. I always find my thoughts drifting and then end up needing to skip back 30 seconds and then another 30 second and then another 30 seconds until I am basically listening to the book twice.  The Kindle book was on hold, but the audiobook was available so I gave it a whirl. I loved it! It definitely made my commute much more enjoyable and I loved that Lauren was the narrator. My favorite chapters were the ones where she talks about Gilmore Girls, season by season. She explains her favorite parts of each season and gives commentary on her hair/wardrobe choices, as well as giving insight in to what was happening with her personally during the making of the show. If you enjoy Gilmore Girls, check this one out. I am not sure I would read the book, but the audio version was perfect.

The Problem with Forever by Jennifer L. Armentrout

I belong to two e-librarys (Phoenix and Corona) so that I can maximize the books that are Unknownavailable to me. Things that may be on hold in Phoenix’s library for months may be available in Corona’s and vice versa. This was one that I was surprised to see available. Of course, it’s another YA book but you know why I love YA– it’s easy peasy! I liked this one… I got a little tired of the narrator and wanted to shake her at times but then I felt bad because her actions/behavior were based on horrific things that happened in her past. Essentially, Melody and Rider are in a pretty abusive foster home together as kids. Fast forward several years when both have found better living situations, Melody goes back to public school and finds out that Rider goes there and is in her speech class. I’d recommend if you like YA books.

The Book of Joy: Finding Happiness in a Changing World by Dalai Lama and Archbishop Desmond Tutu

51VaMOqmsjLI am trying to read more non-fiction but unfortunately, this was the one that I didn’t finish. I liked the entire premise of this book but I found most chapters to be extremely repetitive. They discussed “Ubuntu” on several occasions in the portion that I did read which made me smile. Whether they were talking about joy, how to remain joyful, the things that can get in the way, etc… it all came back to thinking about others. Perhaps I will finish this at some point but, like I said, it was a little repetitive for me.

 

 

I’m already flying through my first book for April! Anything you recommend?

Leave a Reply

