Weekend Wrap-Up

This weekend was whoa. A whirlwind! Thank goodness for spring break in a few days because I need some rest and relaxation time! Sit back and get comfy, this post is a long one.

Friday: Work, of course! I also had my follow-up doctor’s appointment. I shared about getting some results back last week. I had to have a thyroid biopsy after they found a pretty large cyst a few weeks ago. It’s benign (still so relieved) and the endocrinologist wants me to get another ultrasound in six months to monitor. Easy! I can do that. Nice to finally be able to put that in the way back on my mind. After my appointment, I needed to get out to Corona to leave for Phoenix the next morning but I also needed my car in LA because that’s where I was flying back into… my bestie was the best ever and picked me up and we drove to Corona. Traffic wasn’t too horrendous but it was made a ton easier to have someone to chat with. Whit, I still owe you dinner!

Saturday: Dad and I headed to the airport in the morning for our flight to Phoenix. We got in about 11:30 and despite the craziness at the airport and getting into the stadium, we arrived with plenty of time to watch our Zags! Steph and I were able to visit for a few minutes before Dad and I hiked up to our seats. Considering how huge the stadium is, and how high up our seats were, they actually weren’t too bad! There were two students from Arizona sitting behind us who bought tickets at the start of the tournament hoping their team would be there. I told them they were now Zag fans! I texted Michael, Whitney, and my mom the same thing several times during the game: I CANNOT HANDLE THIS! I get stressed out watching at home, but let me tell you, it is about 100x more stressful in person. That last minute of the game dragged on but when that final buzzer went off? SO HAPPY!!! ON TO THE CHAMPIONSHIP!

IMG_3001

IMG_3002

IMG_3008

IMG_3007

Sunday: Dad’s flight was super early so I hung out at the hotel until Jolene picked me up. We headed over to Tricia’s house and caught up for a few hours— it’s always fun hearing how things are at my old school (and being thankful I’m not there) and then just laughing with those two. I’m glad it worked out to get to see both of them! Tricia and I relaxed some more once Jolene headed home and we met one of our other teacher friends for dinner. Tricia is the best for letting me crash at the Igwe house and I know I’ll be seeing her again in California soon! 😉

IMG_3018

Monday: GAME DAY! I woke up so incredibly nervous. Throughout the day, I would remember the game and think to myself, we are playing in the CHAMPIONSHIP! How on earth did we ever get here?! I met up with Steph and her parents at the Biltmore where we walked around (lots of GO ZAGS! when people saw us in our shirts) and then we headed to the arena around noon. McFadden’s was the Gonzaga “bar” so we ate there and mingled with tons of Zags before the game. Adam Morrison even led us in a cheer. I had a single ticket to the game because my dad had to head back home and most people already had tickets or were trying to find them but I had a budget (I still paid a lot…) and it was just too hard to coordinate. I ended up sitting with tons of alumni and a few people that got tickets just because a championship was on their “bucket list.” The poor guy next to me, who also had a single ticket, had to deal with my anxiety during the whole game. He was rooting for the Zags and it was much less stressful to have someone to talk to (kind of like when there is turbulence on an airplane… I need to distract myself). The last 100 seconds of the game was heartbreaking. I’ve never liked UNC and losing to them, in the last 100 seconds, was tough. But I can’t even begin to describe how proud I am of my team. No one expected them to be there… basketball people said they were a championship contender but the skeptics wrote them off and said nope, they play in an easy conference, they don’t have any good wins, they beat an 11 seed and a 7 seed to get to the championship… all of that. We were right there the ENTIRE game. Bad calls (go away, refs) and off nights (it’s okay, Karnowski) got us in the end. I think we proved to the basketball world that we are a true contender. And if they still don’t believe it, they weren’t watching this season.

I am now back home, exhausted from my 7am flight, with a full day of teaching ahead of me. It was a weekend I’ll remember forever though– watching the Zags win in the Final Four with my dad, seeing them take the court for the final game of the season, and hanging out with Zags fan who came from all over to cheer on their team.

FullSizeRender-8

IMG_3036

IMG_3037

One thought on “Weekend Wrap-Up

Leave a Reply

