Shows to Binge

After teaching 6th graders all day and giving directions, answering the same question a thousand times, pulling small groups, grading essays, tutoring after school, running book club, etc, etc, etc, I am all about relaxing in front of the TV. Netflix is great because there are no commercials and you can watch back to back to back (to back) episodes. Here are my favorite shows on Netflix and ones I recommend to binge on:

Friends: Okay, so this is probably a very cliche first choice but I can’t help it. Friends is tied up there for my favorite show and I can watch it over and over again. I love that the episodes are only 20 minutes without commercials and I love that even though the show ended over 10 years ago, it’s still just as funny. I’ve probably watched the series in it’s entirety three or four times. It’s the perfect show to have on in the background when doing some work or laundry. I’m fairly certain most have seen at least a couple episodes, but do yourself a favor and start at the very beginning!

Unknown-1

Friday Night Lights: Friday Night Lights is tied with Friends as my favorite show. This is one that I recommend to literally everyone because it has something that everyone could like. There is a lot of depth to each of the characters and storylines and it does it’s job so well that you’ll be wanting to live in Texas before long. While the show is about football, it’s not necessarily ABOUT football (if that makes sense… ). Give it a whirl for an episode or two and you’ll be hooked! Side note: Michael and my dad both love this show. I have very different taste than them in TV, yet we all still watched this one!

Unknown-2

Broadchurch: SO SO SO GOOD! This British show has two seasons and each is only about 10 episodes which means that you will fly right through. The first season investigates the disappearance and murder of a young boy and everyone in the small village is a suspect. You find out who the killer is at the end of the season and the second season follows the trial of said person. This, behind FNL, is the one I recommend the most to people. It’ll keep you guessing until the very end (and then probably infuriate you).

Unknown-1

The Office: You can’t go wrong with The Office! Like Friends, this is one that is, at this point, easy to have on in the background while I’m doing something else. I don’t work at a typical “office” but this is exactly how I picture it to be… or wish it was! Jim and Pam are my favorite (would you expect anything else?) and as much as I like my principal, I wouldn’t mind Michael Scott stepping in for the day. One person I can do without? Dwight. I know, I said it.

Unknown-3

Gossip Girl: Two words: Chuck Bass. My college roomies and I loved watching this one together. If you love drama, fashion, and New York City, this one is for you! As always with these teen dramas, it’s very unrealistic but I think thats why it’s also really fun.

Unknown

Pretty Little Liars: This one will take commitment on your part to make it through but I guarantee you’ll like it if you do! If you love a good mystery (we are in the last half of the final season and STILL DON’T KNOW WHO A IS!), PLL is for you. The show can be very tween-y at times (and extremely unrealistic) but it’s kept me hooked for 7 seasons so it must be doing something right! The season ends in several weeks and I am probably going to re-watch again at some point to see if I can pick up on any clues along the way.

images

New Girl: I admit, I am not up to date on New Girl but do enjoy it when I need a break from more intense shows (see below 😉 ). Jessica Day’s quirkiness can get a wee bit annoying at times, but her wardrobe certainly makes up for it. And I’m pretty sure Schmitt makes me laugh about 10 times every episode.

Unknown-1

Some other good ones are: Stranger Things, Hart of Dixie, Grey’s Anatomy, Master of None, Freaks and Geeks, and One Tree Hill.

Also, here are some documentaries that you should check out: Making a Murderer, Amanda Knox, Blackfish, 13th, and Planet Earth.

What shows are on your Netflix list?

Leave a Reply

