May Book Review

Happy June! There was a whole lot of reading being done the last few weeks. Here are the books that sucked me in and as always, leave a comment if I need to add anything to my ever-growing wishlist.

 

UnknownCancel the Wedding by Carolyn Dingman

I read this one because Mix and Match Mama (one of my fave blogs) said it was one of her favorite reads last year and because of super high the Amazon ratings. It was enjoyable enough but just kind of eh. It took me about a week to read which tells you right there that it was just okay. The book follows a young woman who travels to Georgia to spread her mom’s ashes and learn a little more about her mom’s past. She gets help from various people in the town and learns not only a lot about her mother, but herself too.

 

Unknown-1

The Bright Effect by Autumn Doughton and Erica Cope

I had to check out another book by these two authors because of how much I enjoyed Steering the Stars. This one is told by two narrators in alternating chapters, Amelia and Bash. They come from completely different worlds, but also find out they have much more in common than they originally thought. The story is told in two parts and let’s just say Part 1 was much happier than Part 2 (I gasped when I read the last few pages of the first part). Definitely recommend for those that enjoy young adult.

 

Swear on This Life by Renee CarlinoUnknown-2

I wish I could erase this book from my memory and start it all over again! Emiline is a struggling writer who never talks about her past. Her roommate, Cara, lends her a new book she just couldn’t put down and Emi reluctantly starts to read it. After the first couple chapters, she realizes the protagonist of the book is based on her. She struggles with reading the book, seeing the books author for the first time in 12 years, and figuring out her current relationship. This was basically a book within a book and I loved every second of it. The epilogue was way too short; I need a whole other book!

 

5129lpz5iDL._AC_US218_.jpg

Chasing Polaris by Autumn Doughton and Erica Cope

This is another one by Doughton and Cope. It was probably my least favorite out of the three that I read but I still liked it okay. This one follows Seth, Bash’s best friend who appears in The Bright Effect. He meets Imogen and they embark on a scavenger hunt to try to win tickets to a music festival. Little does Imogen know though that Seth is in the band that is headlining the show. It was okay and definitely an easy read but out of the books by these authors, I would definitely choose one of the others.

 

41HfWPTfwrL._AC_US218_.jpg

One True Loves by Taylor Jenkins Reid

This is another one I read based on Mix and Match Mama’s review and also the reviews on Amazon. I liked this one WAY more than Cancel the Wedding! I read it in about two days and I am fairly certain that if work didn’t get in the way, it would have been done much sooner. Emma Blair marries her high school sweetheart, Jesse, and they are living a wonderful life in Southern California, traveling the world. Jesse goes missing in a helicopter crash the day before their first wedding anniversary and is declared dead. Fast forward three years later, Emma is engaged to another man and is happy again… until she receives a phone call from Jesse. Now Emma has to choose between the two loves of her life. It wasn’t sure who I wanted her to pick but I will say that I am satisfied with how it ended.

Unknown-1

Always and Forever, Lara Jean by Jenny Han

This is the third in a series by the author and despite having read the previous two SO SO long ago, it didn’t take me long to fall back into the characters. The book was totally predictable and the main character, Lara Jean, was such a goody-goody at times, but it was enjoyable enough. The author left it fairly open so I wouldn’t be surprised if there is another one in the series at some point.

 

imagesStill Alice by Lisa Genova

This one has been out for several years and was never on my to-read list for whatever reason. My mom bought recently bought it and lent it to me to read during state testing (no electronic devices allowed. Sorry, Kindle) and I am so glad she did! Alice is a well-respected Harvard psychology professor who, at the age of 50, begins forgetting things here and there. After seeing her primary physician, she wants to consult with a neurologist who tells her that she has early-onset Alzheimer’s Disease. The rest of the book is Alice and her family navigating her (and their) new life as she starts getting progressively worse. Definitely add this one to your list– don’t wait as long as I did!

 

UnknownMaybe in Another Life by Taylor Jenkins Reid

With how much I enjoyed One True Loves, I needed to get my hands on another one by Reid. I liked this one just as much, if not more. Hannah moves back to Los Angeles after living in several cities. She goes out with her best friend to meet up with old high school acquaintances and finds herself having to decide to go home with her best friend or home with her ex-boyfriend. From here, the book is told as two different stories in alternating chapters what would happen if she made either of those choices. I liked both storylines equally and in the end, couldn’t decide which I wanted to be the “what was actually happening” story. Two more books by this author; can’t wait to read them!

 

Unknown-1I Let You Go by Claire Mackintosh

I’d definitely recommend this one if you’re the Gone Girl or Girl on the Train type of book lover. The book is told in alternating points of view– one of the mother whose child is killed in a hit and run accident and the other the police officer investigating the case. It was pretty intense and there were some pages I needed to read again because I got confused with the narrators but overall, this one was a quick read that kept me picking it up.

 

 

I am currently reading one now that I cannot seem to get into so we will see if that one will make my June post or not! Happy reading!

Leave a Reply

